How 33 Prominent Stakeholders Resolved ANLCA Crisis at Abuja


Spread the love
By Francis Ugwoke
Worried about the lingering crisis in the Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA), prominent leaders in the shipping industry on Wednesday assembled in Abuja to ensure peace in the association.

Among the industry chieftains were the former Executive Secretary, Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC), Dr. Hassan Bello who as guest of honor, made a presentation titled “The Desirous Peace In ANLCA Administration As A Panacea For Professional Growth And Practitioners Well Being”.

The event was anchored by a 7-Man ANLCA Leadership- Professional Mutual Accord Committee set up by the Customs Consultative Committee ( CCC) Chairman, Aare Hakeem Olanrewaju at the Transcorp Hilton Hotel Abuja.

He was supported by DCG Austen Warikoru, ACG Liman Bello (Rtd), Mrs CFO Ezenwa, CAC Dimka Victor Rtd, Alh. Inua Mohammed, Dr Eugene Nweke ( Secretary) as committee members.
Others were former Presidents of ANLCA – Chief Olayiwola Shittu, Chief Peter Eloka Okocha and Sir Ernest Elochukwu,
Eze Amb. Damian Obianigwe, Chief Oye Ariyo and Toyin Odeyemi.

Bello had in his presentation noted that while the lingering internal leadership differences among the leaders lasted for the past four years, the profession and practitioners have been confronted with several administrative and operational challenges owing to non-prompt strong willed leadership directions and focus.
He added that the question then would be on whether ANLCA was still “a nucleus driver and professional pace setter” in the port supply chain considering the crisis.

Bello concluded by calling on the leadership to let go their differences and pursue common cause of professional leadership direction and tackle concerns raised for the overall professional cum industry growth.

The Customs Consultative Committee observed the absence of strong professional will in the industry and its impact on the practitioners which was the reason for organising the strategic mutual professional peace accord.
Secretary of the Peace Committee, Dr. Eugene Nweke explained that the Abuja meeting was to provide solutions to a “lasting peace in ANLCA cum professional wellness and sustenance of professionaliam in the industry”. .
According to Nweke in a statement, the Accord Meeting was mutually resolved as follows:

“i).The 2013 constitution remains the reference point of the association, therefore, decisions reached at this reconciliation meeting will be based on the 2013 constitution deposited with the CAC.
ii). Members of the presently constituted ASECO should continue in office subject to confirmation by the CCC that all members of the commission hold valid licenses.

iii).The Board of Trustees as presently constituted by the CRFFN meeting should continue in office subject to the verification of the members licenses by the CCC pending the election of a new Board by ASECO within the earliest possible time.

iv). ASECO should conduct a new NECOM election within one month from the date of this meeting, 19th of July 2023.

v). A Press release be jointly signed by the Chairman and the Vice Chairman of the Board of the Association to the effect that an agreement has been reached on the present NECOM to round up in the next two weeks after which it will hand over the affairs of the Association to the Board while ASECO concludes the election within four weeks from today the 19TH of July 2023.
vi). There should be an internal redress mechanism to be used by members before recourse to court or any external body.

vii). All pending court cases be withdrawn forthwith and the Association be given an opportunity to address the issues internally.

viii) The licenses of BOT members and ASECO as presently constituted should be verified by the CCC within one week from the date of this meeting being 19th July 2023.

ix). It was unanimously agreed that all in attendance sign and endorse this resolution in the order of recorded attendance”.

Industry stakeholders who attended the Abuja meeting were:
1.Aare Hakeem Olanrewaju- Chairman
2. DCG Austen Warikoru Rtd- Member
3. DCG Liman Bello Rtd- Member
4. Mrs CFO Ezenwa – Member
5. CAC Dimka Victor Rtd- Member
6. Alh. Inua Mohammed (Former National President of ANCLA)- Member
7. Dr. Eugene Nweke Rff(Secretary)
8. Alhaji Inua Mohammed
9. Bar. Hassan Bello
10. Chief Peter Okocha
11. Chief Ernest Elochukwu
12. Prince Olayiwola Shittu
13. Chief Henry Njoku
14. HRH Eze Amb Damian Obinigwe.
15. Chief Oye Ariyo
16. Prince Taye Oyeniyi
17. Alh. Taiwo Mustapha
18. Prince, Ozo Chukwurah
19. Chief Dayo Azeez
20. Chief Emenike Nwokeoji
21. Segun Oduntan
22. Abdulrahim A. Abdul
23. Hajia Bola Muse
24. Alh. Abdulazeez Babatunde
25. Chief Bayo Oyekanpin
26. Bar. Enekwechi Onyimba
27. Mr Joe Sanni
28. Dr. Fayinto Kayode
29. Dr. Okonkwo Obecee.
30. Eniola Igbaroola
31. Chief Kingsley Offor
32. Alhaji Lameen Aliyu
33. Chief Michael Ebeatu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email