ANLCA President Applauds Reappointment of Hadiza Usman as NPA MD

Spread the love

The National President of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA), Iju Tony Nwabunike, has applauded the reappointment of the Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Hadiza Bala Usman for a second term of five years.

Nwabunike said the decision of the President was for the best interest of the maritime industry, adding that this will enable Usman continue in the efforts to address challenges in the ports sector.

According to him, Usman’s reappointment was important in view of the various reform measures being introduced to tackle issues of congerstion in the ports and gridlock on the ports access roads.

“Hadiza Usman has done well so far. She deserves this reappointment from the President. I believe the President himself keeps track records of how his appointees are performing in areas of assignments and this is what earned Hadiza her reappointment. The task in the ports is enormous and she has been equal to the task. With the reappointment she will continue in the efforts to address various challenges affecting trade facilitation. The gridlock is there and other issues affecting smooth operations, so I believe that she will continue where she stopped for the industry to be better”, he

President Muhammadu Buhari had on Thursday announced the reappointment of Hadiza as as Managing Director NPA for another five years.

The President also reconstituted the boards of the agency and that of the Transmission Company of Nigeria.

This was contained in a statement issued by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina.

Part of the statement reads, “President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the re-appointment of Hadiza Bala Usman as Managing Director of Nigerian Ports Authority for an additional five-year tenure.

“Also approved is the reconstitution of the Non-Executive Board of the NPA, with Mr Emmanuel Olajide Adesoye (from South-west zone) as Chairman.

“Other members of the board are Ekenyem Nwafor-Orizu (South-East zone), Akinwunmi Ricketts (South-South zone), Ghazali Mohammed Mijinyawa (North-East zone), Mustapha Amin Dutse (North-West zone), and Abdulwahab Adesina (North-Central zone).
The Board of the Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN) was also reconstgituted, according to the statement.

The statement said members of the new TCN board will oversee the selection of a new Managing Director for the organisation.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email